National Honor Society Welcomes 29 New Members

At the induction ceremony, held on Thursday, November 17th, new members received pins and certificates to signify membership in the chapter. This year's Executive Board was sworn in as they assume their responsibilities of leadership of the chapter. This year's officers are Owen Nash '23 (President), Kayla Moreno '23 (Vice President), Lauren Caccamo '23 (Treasurer), Eamon Spect '23 (Secretary) and Danielle Hanna '23 (Historian). Our veteran members were also present at the induction to welcome our newest members and re-commit themselves to these core values of the National Honor Society. The total membership in the Aurora Chapter now totals 71 members.
Mr. Clifford Scanlon was this year's honorary member. The Aurora Chapter recognized his service and leadership within our school community. Our Executive Board introduced Mr. Scanlon saying "Mr. Scanlon is a genuinely good person who causes selflessness to circulate within the halls of St. Edmund Prep as he has shown students a perfect example of a gentleman whose vocation is to bestow wisdom and life lessons onto others."
Mr. Scanlon had an opportunity to speak with the members. He reminded the students that "education, combined with an atmosphere of trust, motivation and creativity bring out the greatest qualities in a student". Mr. Scanlon was presented with a plaque displaying his honorary membership.
The National Honor Society will continue to assist other students with their studies through peer tutoring and participate in community service.